Skip to content

Independence Day

July 2, 2011

I lean back and take in a deep breath as another July 4th is approaching. I love this day about as much as Christmas. I have the best of both worlds. One for my soul, satisfying my inner longing for the permanent. Another for the temporal, without the chain of oppression. 

One look at the present state of affairs in the U.S. and I shiver with something of a deja vue, a familiar fear I knew as a little girl growing up in communist Romania. Liberals throw a tantrum to quiet those whose views differ. They cannot stand conservatives. They cannot bear to hear them, to know that conservatives exist.

Not only that they exist, but that conservative people outnumber the liberals.

To quote Winston Churchill: “Some people’s idea of free speech is that they are free to say what they like, but if anyone says anything back, that is an outrage.”

Liberal sounds good, but in essence stands for everything against the inner moral compass because it removes the element of “choice” from you and instead imposes itself. It sets up its own standard, raising it or lowering it depending  on its whim, instead of acknowledging a higher authority than itself. Young people grow up hearing “conservatives” associated with something that’s bad, while “liberal” is associated with acceptance.

When I was a child growing up in Romania, I didn’t swallow mindlessly what my superiors fed down, what the media shouted, and what I heard in propaganda. I thought for myself. I asked myself questions before aligning with the one philosophy permitted by the government. And after I all that, I knew I’d never subscribe to that kind of oppressive mentality.

Thank God in the U.S. we still have the personal freedom to think, so think for yourself before signing on to some ideology. We still have the right to ask questions and debate and ponder.

I wish everyone would avail oneself of that right. And after you’ve done all that you need to do to make an informed, educated decision, then you have respect not only for your own views, but for opposing views. You can articulate why you believe the way you do because you’ve thought things through.

You have the right to make an intelligent choice.

There are many who want to rob you of the right to make an intelligent choice by mocking, by ridiculing, by discounting you as a person and your questions, by threatening, by scaring you, by insulting and by putting you down. It’s up to you to not let yourself be intimidated. That is their weapon of choice. That is all they have to fight with against your conservative points of view.

Only those who cherish and protect personal freedoms offer you the right to be yourself, not the ones who cannot tolerate opposing views. Liberals have left little doubt that they cannot coexist with conservatives. 

To me, the 4th of July means the right to be myself, without fear or intimidation, thanks to the greatest nation on the face of the earth, the United States of America. I’m so proud to be an American.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

